About LSF?

Lanka Software Foundation (LSF) is a non-profit company (limited by guarantee) founded in 2003 by Dr. Sanjiva Weerawarana and Mr. Jivaka Weeratunge. Along with Sanjiva and Jivaka, the other subscribers of the company are Dr. Indrajith Coomaraswamy, Dr. Kamal Weeraperuma, Mr. Ralph de Lanerole, Prof. Saman Amarasinghe, Mr. Paul Ratnayeke, Prof. Kumar Wickramasinghe and Dr. Yohan Weerasuriya, and the late Prof. V.K. Samaranayake.

In the first 15 years, LSF focused on providing a platform for Sri Lankan software engineers to create open source software technology that would impact the world of software. LSF has been very successful in that regard: we have created a brand for Sri Lanka as a country that produces a lot of open source software by becoming a leading contributor to the Apache Software Foundation (the leading open source community in the world), by creating the Sahana disaster management system after the 2004 tsunami (which is now its own US-based foundation: Sahana Software Foundation) and various other projects.

LSF has always been funded by grants from various organizations, both in Sri Lanka and outside.

In August 2018, LSF changed course from creating technology to helping the Government of Sri Lanka deploy technology to improve governance and the quality of services provided to citizens. This project is called Code for Sri Lanka.


Prof. Rohan Samarajiva

Chairman of LSF, ICTA & LIRNEasia

Dr. Srinath Perera

VP of Research, WSO2

Prof. Louiqa Raschid

University of Maryland, USA

Prof. Gihan Dias

University of Moratuwa and Chairman, LK Domain Registry

Dr. Sanjiva Weerawarana

Founder of LSF and WSO2


Iromi Peiris

Administrative Officer

Sherazad Hamit

Program Director

Mohamed Nizar

Senior Software Engineer

Clement Fernando

Senior Software Engineer

Kosala Gangabadage

Senior Software Engineer

Dinuka De Silva

Software Engineer

Yujith Isura

Software Engineer

Umayanga Gunawardhana

Software Engineer

Janith Silva

Intern - Software Engineer


StartupX Foundry


University of Maryland

LK Domain Registry



Free Software Award 2008

Project Sahana

eSwabhimani 2009 - Special Mention

Project Dcache

The Manthan Award South Asia 2010

Project Ninithi

eSwabhimani 2019 - Winner

Project Ninithi